Standards in the tea sector

Certified tea is commonly defined as tea that includes the three pillars of sustainability. The concept of sustainability in this realm includes such aspects as ‘economic viability for farmers’, ‘environmental conservation’ and ‘social responsibility’. Certification is the procedure by which an independent third party certification body gives written assurance that the quality of the tea and the production process has been assessed and conforms to specified requirements.


Independent monitoring and certification are central to the four major tea production standards: Fairtrade, Organic, Rainforest Alliance and UTZ Certified.


Other tea is sold under a sustainability initiative that is designed by private companies, Ethical Tea Partnership (ETP).


Production standards



Rainforest Alliance

UTZ Certified


Company standard

Ethical Tea Partnership